Contributions and acknowledgements

Key to the Veterans’ MATES program success is the involvement of our partner organisations, external stakeholders that include veterans and their health professionals, as well as independent clinical expert reviewers. Our partners are involved at every stage of the program and we would like to acknowledge the key role that they play in developing the Veterans’ MATES materials.


Editorial Committee current members (from 2023)

Professor Amanda Barnard
Rural and Medical Education Sectors

Lieutenant Colonel Julie Blogg
Department of Defence

Mrs Jenny Gregory
Australian War Widows

Dr Graeme Killer
Australian Medical Association

Dr Ian Gardner
Returned Services League of Australia

Professor Greg Peterson
Repatriation Pharmaceutical Reference Committee

Dr Kerry Summerscales
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Associate Professor Michael Woodward
Repatriation Pharmaceutical Reference Committee


Clinical Reference Group (Writing Group) current members (from 2023)

Australian Medicines Handbook
Ms Jane Curtis
Ms Simone Rossi
Ms Louise Sheridan
Ms Christina Adamopoulos

University of Adelaide, Division of General Practice 
Professor Nigel Stocks
Dr Oliver Frank

Drug and Therapeutics Information Service
Professor Debra Rowett

Institute of Professional Editors
Ms Kathie Stove

Phoenix Australia
Professor Andrea Phelps


External reviewers of our materials (from 2016)

Dr James Allan
Specialist General Practitioner, Aldgate, SA

Dr Ian Arthur
Specialist General Practitioner, Toormina, NSW

Associate Professor Ralph Audehm
Specialist General Practitioner, Carlton, Vic

Dr Justin Baker
Clinical Pharmacology Registrar, Flinders Medical Centre, SA

Professor Malcolm Battersby
Head of Psychiatry, Flinders Medical Centre, SA

Dr Chris Bollen
Specialist General Practitioner, Hillcrest, SA

Dr Penny Briscoe
Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA

Dr Andrew Broad
Specialist General Practitioner, Blackburn, Vic

Dr Paul Cafarella
Repatriation General Hospital, SA

Dr Robert Carroll
Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA

Professor Keryln Carville
Silver Chain, WA

Mr Rajiv Chand
Alzheimer's Australia, SA

Professor Jacqueline Close
Neuroscience Research Australia, NSW

Dr Charles Cock
College of Medicine and Public Health, Flinders University, SA

Mr Tim Cocks
Neuro Orthopaedic Institute, SA

Dr Jennifer Coller
Consultant Cardiologist, Vic

Dr Margaret Daley
Specialist General Practitioner, Surry Hills, NSW

Dr Paresh Dawda
Prestanthia Health, Deakin, NSW

Professor Brian Draper
Professor (Conjoint), School of Psychiatry, University of New South Wales, NSW

Professor Jenny Doust
Clinical Professorial Research Fellow, University of Queensland, QLD

Dr Alison Edwards
Specialist General Practitioner, Port Broughton, SA

Associate Professor Christopher Etherton-Beer
Medical School, University of Western Australia, WA

Dr Lucia Gagliardi
Endocrine Consultants, SA

Associate Professor Ingrid Hopper
Public Health and Preventative Medicine, Monash University, Vic

Dr Chris Hayes
Specialist Pain Medicine Physician, Director, Hunter Integrated Pain Service, NSW

Dr Cate Howell
Specialist General Practitioner, Goolwa, SA

Dr Ilya Hubczenko
Specialist General Practitioner, Hillcrest, SA

Dr Mark Hutton
Dentist, Mount Gambier, SA

Dr Claire Iselli
ENT Surgeon, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Vic

Dr Kylie Johnston
School of Health Sciences, University of South Australia, SA

Professor David LeCouteur
Anzac Research Institute, University of Sydney, NSW

Dr Vicki Lunn
Specialist General Practitioner, Balmain, NSW

Professor Kurt Lushington
Head of School, Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, University of South Australia

Mr Joel Magarey
Journalist, SA

Dr Robert Menz
Specialist General Practitioner, College Park, SA

Professor Lorimer Moseley
School of Health Sciences, University of South Australia, SA

Associate Professor Brad Murphy
Ashfield Country Practice, Windermere, QLD

Dr Brendan Ng
Clinical Pharmacology and Ageing Laboratory, University of Sydney, NSW

Dr Phil Parker
Specialist General Practitioner, Eaton Hills, Qld

Professor Nicholas Procter
Chair: Mental Health Nursing, University of South Australia, SA

Ms Debbie Rigby
Advanced Practice Pharmacist, Qld

Professor Markus Seibel
Concord Repatriation General Hospital, NSW

Dr Tim Semple
Queen Elizabeth Hospital, SA

Professor Sepehr Shakib
Faculty of Health Sciences, The University of Adelaide, SA

Prof Michael Shanahan
College of Medicine and Public Health, Flinders University, SA

Dr Dianne Smith
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospial, Qld

Associate Professor Geoff Sussman
Faculty of Medicine, Monash University, Vic

Ms Michele Sutherland
SA Health, SA

Dr Simon Vanlint
Specialist General Practitioner, Para Hills West, SA

Professor Ian Yang
School of Medicine, University of Queensland, Qld

Associate Professor Michael Yelland
School of Medicine, Griffith University, Qld

Return to top